Alzheimer's disease: The Challenge of the Next Decade

Date: Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Time: 5:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Registration: 5:00 p.m.

Location: 451 Smyth Rd | uOttawa, The Atrium at Roger Guindon Hall

Admission: Free

There are currently over 500,000 Canadians suffering from Alzheimer’s disease (AD) or another form of dementia, and the number is steadily increasing every day. By the year 2050 an estimated 1.5 million people in Canada, and an additional 150 million people worldwide, will suffer from AD. Moreover, these estimates do not include the countless silent sufferers dealing with the social, emotional and financial turmoil associated with caring for loved ones stricken by this disease. AD progresses slowly, first robbing sufferers of their short-term memories, like where they left their keys, then wiping their long-term memories from their brains, like the names of their loved ones, and finally taking away their ability to do simple daily tasks, like taking a shower.

There is currently no cure for AD and little progress has been made to develop new treatments. Therefore, there is an urgent need for new ideas that can lead to new therapeutic strategies aimed at key features of the disease. Since there are no curative medications, it is crucial to identify early the candidates that could potentially develop this terrible disease.

We have invited a panel of experts to discuss the impact of Alzheimer on the individuals and their families and on the society as a whole. Social worker, neuropsychologist, lawyer, physician and importantly a care giver will share their expertise and experience with this pathology. These experts will answer any question from the audience. The recent clinical studies give hope that in a near future, there might be more efficient treatment. The data of these studies will be also discussed. We hope to provide useful information for the public.

Please choose your registration(s)

Error(s) encountered:
  • All events are sold out.
Quantity and Pricing
Alzheimer's disease: The Challenge of the Next Decade (Sold out)
----------------------------------------------------
October-18-17 at 5:30 PM
 
Participants/tickets: 1 No Charge

Back to top

La maladie d’Alzheimer : le défi de la prochaine décennie

Date : mercredi le 18 octobre 2017

Heure : 17h30 à 19h00

Enregistrement : 17h00

Lieu : 451, chemin Smyth | Salle atrium du pavillon Roger-Guindon

Coût : Gratuit

À l’heure actuelle, plus de 500 000 Canadiens sont atteints de la maladie d’Alzheimer ou d’une autre forme de démence, et ce nombre augmente de jour en jour à un rythme constant. D’ici 2050, on estime que 1,5 million de personnes en souffriront au Canada, et 150 millions de personnes dans le monde. Ces estimations ne prennent même pas en compte les innombrables victimes indirectes de la maladie, soit les proches aux prises avec les difficultés sociales, émotionnelles et financières qu’entraînent les soins à donner aux personnes atteintes. L’alzheimer progresse lentement. Ses victimes commencent par perdre leur mémoire à court terme, oubliant par exemple l’endroit où elles ont laissé leurs clés. Ensuite, leurs souvenirs à long terme s’effacent, et elles n’arrivent plus à retrouver le nom de leurs proches. Enfin, elles perdent la capacité d’effectuer les tâches quotidiennes les plus simples, comme de prendre une douche.

La maladie d’Alzheimer est toujours incurable, et peu de progrès ont été accomplis dans la mise au point de traitements efficaces. Par conséquent, un besoin pressant de nouvelles idées susceptibles de mener à de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques ciblant des caractéristiques clés de la maladie se fait sentir. En l’absence de traitement curatif, il est essentiel de pouvoir dépister précocement les personnes à risque de développer cette terrible maladie.

Nous avons invité un panel d’experts pour discuter de l’impact de l’alzheimer sur les personnes atteintes et leur famille ainsi que sur la société dans son ensemble. Un travailleur social, un neuropsychologue, un avocat, un médecin et un aidant mettront donc en commun leurs connaissances et leur expérience de cette pathologie, en plus de répondre aux questions de l’assistance. Les études cliniques les plus récentes donnent l’espoir que nous disposerons, dans un avenir proche, de traitements plus efficaces. Les résultats de ces études seront également à l’ordre du jour. Nous espérons ainsi fournir au public une information utile.

Quantity and Pricing
La maladie d’Alzheimer : le défi de la prochaine décennie
----------------------------------------------------
October-18-17 at 5:30 PM
 
Participants/billet: 1 Sans frais

Back to top