The uOBMRI-Rowan's Legacy Symposium

Date: Thursday, October 19, 2017

Time: 5:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Registration: 5:00 p.m.

Location: Algonquin College | Bldg. D | 1385 Woodroffe Ave.

Admission: Free

The uOBMRI-Rowan's Legacy Symposium is a collaborative event seeking to enhance concussion education and awareness in the Ottawa community. The event is designed to educate athletes, coaches, parents, and the general public on the impact of concussions, as well as present current concussion and head trauma research. The goal of the event is to create general awareness regarding head trauma and to answer popular questions, including what to do if your child has a concussion.

This symposium will feature researchers and health care professionals who will provide information on leading advances in concussion care and research. In this regard, Dr. Shawn Marshall will provide information on the status of current treatment for concussion injury in adults while Dr. Roger Zemek will describe leading research on pediatric concussion injury.

Additionally, the event will feature an athlete panel where former and current elite athletes (professional, semi-professional, and university) can share how concussions impacted their education and playing careers. This event is brought to the Ottawa community through a partnership between the University of Ottawa Brain and Mind Research Institute and the Concussion Legacy Foundation Canada in honor of the late Rowan Stringer of Nepean, Ontario and her family.

Please choose your registration(s)

Quantity and Pricing
The uOBMRI-Rowan's Legacy Symposium
----------------------------------------------------
October-19-17 at 5:30 PM
 
Participants/tickets: 1 No Charge

Back to top

Symposium IRCuO-Rowan’s Legacy

Date : jeudi le 19 octobre 2017

Heure : 17h30 à 20h00

Enregistrement : 17h00

Lieu : Collège Algonquin | Bldg. D | 1385 ave Woodroffe

Coût : Gratuit

Le Symposium IRCuO-Rowan’s Legacy est une activité conjointe d’éducation et de sensibilisation à la commotion cérébrale au sein de la population d’Ottawa. Il est conçu pour éduquer les athlètes, les entraîneurs, les parents et le public en général quant à l’impact des commotions cérébrales, tout en faisant état de la recherche actuelle sur les traumatismes crâniens. Le but de l’activité est de conscientiser la population à cette problématique et de répondre aux questions les plus fréquentes — par exemple : que faire si mon enfant subit une commotion cérébrale?

Le symposium réunira des chercheurs et des professionnels de la santé qui discuteront des principales avancées dans le domaine de la commotion cérébrale. Ainsi, le Dr Shawn Marshall parlera des approches actuelles en matière de traitement de celle-ci chez l’adulte, tandis que le Dr Roger Zemek fera état des recherches de pointe sur le sujet dans le domaine pédiatrique.

On pourra en outre assister à une table ronde réunissant des athlètes d’élite en activité ou à la retraite (au niveau professionnel, semi-professionnel ou universitaire), qui témoigneront de l’impact des commotions cérébrales sur leurs études et sur leur carrière sportive. Cette activité est offerte à la population d’Ottawa en vertu d’un partenariat entre l’Institut de recherche sur le cerveau de l’Université d’Ottawa et la Concussion Legacy Foundation Canada en l’honneur de la regrettée Rowan Stringer, de Nepean (Ontario), et de sa famille.

Quantity and Pricing
Symposium IRCuO-Rowan’s Legacy
----------------------------------------------------
October-19-17 at 5:30 PM
 
Participants/billet: 1 Sans frais

Back to top